Because the HR profession is constantly changing and evolving, it is important for certified professionals to continually update their HR competencies and knowledge. Achieving certification as a SHRM Certified Professional (SHRM-CP) or SHRM Senior Certified Professional (SHRM-SCP) is the first step.

Recertification is achieved when SHRM-CP and SHRM-SCP credential holders engage in continued ongoing learning and professional development activities that relate to the Behavioral Competencies and Functional Areas of Knowledge identified in the SHRM BoCK. To recertify and maintain your credential, you must earn 60 Professional Development Credits (PDCs) every three years, or retake the certification exam. Sixty (60) hours of learning credit is required during those 3 years.

Recertification Requirements


  • Earn 60 Professional Development Credits (PDCs) within a 3-year recertification period that ends on the last day of the credential holder’s birth month


  • Retake the certification exam at the end of the 3-year recertification period.

Recertification Timeline and Fees

As a certified SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP, you must submit your PDCs or retake the SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP certification exam throughout your 3-year recertification period ending on the last day of your birth month. Once your recertification application is complete and has been approved, your next 3-year recertification period will begin from your existing end date.

If you complete your recertification cycle early, your end date will not change, but any unused or subsequent professional development activities completed within your current certification period cannot be carried over to the next.

Recertification Application Fee

SHRM Members = $100 USD

Nonmembers = $150 USD

Qualifying Credit-Earning Activities